Today the Washingtonians were excited about the sun that rose and set perpendicularly to the grid of streets of Washington, but I completely forgot to admire the sun when I left the office for a class of ballet (for the first time in about 15 years!) because I was so excited to have put together the first commentable draft of my thesis.

I’ve now written content worth of 24 pages, which corresponds basically to the theoretical background / literature review of my work. It’s was a great journey from development sector’s discourse on the fundamental principles of development assistance to refreshing my memory about knowledge management theories and finally to intensive studying of systems thinking in the wonderful library of George Washington University and applying that into the development world.

I’m a bit nervous to give out this my baby work of 3,5 weeks to my advisers and professor. The approach I’m applying and the point of view that I’m proposing seem to be very alien to the development assistance world. Sometimes my mind fills with hesitation and I start thinking that maybe the approach won’t make sense to anyone else…

Anyway.. here’s the current draft of the contents of my work!

  • INTRODUCTION
  • BACKGROUND
    • DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE: ORIGINS, TRENDS, AND ROLE OF PRIVATE ASSISTANCE
      • Origins of development assistance
      • Trends in development assistance: proliferation, fragmentation and global endeavor for efficiency
      • Increasing efficiency through coordination
      • The role of private development assistance
    • KNOWLEDGE MANAGEMENT IN DEVELOPMENT CO-OPERATION
      • Knowledge management and knowledge management systems
      • Overview of knowledge management in development co-operation
      • Inter-organizational knowledge management
      • Knowledge sharing
      • IT-supported knowledge management
    • SYSTEMS THINKING APPROACH TO KNOWLEDGE MANAGEMENT AND PRIVATE DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
      • Systems thinking and social systems
      • Private development assistance as a social system
      • Systems approach to knowledge management and private development assistance
    • CONCLUSIONS (OR SUMMARY?)
  • PRESENTATION OF THE RESEARCH QUESTION
  • RESEARCH METHODS
  • REFERENCES
