Last week I was all excited going through my interview material. Having sort of finished theoretical background the week before, I was happy for the change for more creative, interpretative and freer style of doing research. Especially because I have some hilarious interview material!

At this point, my grand conclusion is that if the different actors of private development assistance had better awareness about each other and relevant projects, the development assistance could be considerably more efficient (and this indeed was my hunch when I started with the topic).

When I told this finding to my Peruvian and Russian work colleagues over a happy hour pitcher of sangria, they nodded their heads and said, that’s obvious, isn’t it?

And so I took my head out of the clouds and acknowledged, it is obvious.

I guess that’s reseach: after reading, studying and quoting tens and tens scholars and applying and reasoning their ideas, the outcome is something that one kind of knows as common knowledge.

But when research about knowledge in development sector concentrates on local knowledge, gender specific knowledge, indigenous knowledge and whatever other knowledge, and approaches to coordinating the common work are mostly about face-to-face coordination meetings, one might indeed need the 50 pages of the thesis to prove that point!

The coming week I aim to add little more to my argument from the area of economics (hints on good sources about labor division and the impact of knowledge to the behavior of markets/any actors would be appreciated) and then I will finally start the second, exciting part of my research proposition: how could modern technology help in creating that awareness.

